Skip to content

Triennale Art
& Dunkerque
Triennale Art & Industrie Dunkerque Hauts–de–France

Lieu : Château d’esquelbecq


10 Place Alphonse Bergerot, 59470 Esquelbecq, France / @chateauesquelbecq 

Les jardins seront ouverts au public de mai à septembre du jeudi au dimanche de 12h à 18h

À partir du mois d’octobre les jardins sont ouverts uniquement les week-end de 14h à 18h


Entrée: 5€  (Gratuit pour les moins de 12 ans) 

Renseignements à

June 3, 2023 @ 10h00 September 17, 2023 @ 18h00

Opening: Saturday, June 3, 2023
Exhibition dates: June 3, 2023, to September 17, 2023
Curated by: Aude de Bourbon Parme and Johan Tamer-Morael

What is a sound landscape and why should we be interested in it? How can we work with the invisible as visual artists? What does it mean to listen? These are the questions raised by the exhibition “Paysage Sonore” (Sound Landscape) in the gardens of Château d’Esquelbecq this year. The twelve sculptures and visual and/or sound installations created by the invited artists offer avenues for reflection. In our image-driven society, we primarily learn to see but rarely to listen, so the exhibition highlights the sense of hearing. It encourages visitors to attentively listen to the environment in which they evolve, such as the almond garden, the landscaped park, and the historic vegetable garden greenhouse. It urges them to take the time to feel what inhabits and is specific to it, in order to then cast a fresh gaze upon the soundscapes of their daily lives. The exhibited works are proposals for experiences that interact with their surroundings and with the visitors. They are to be experienced as sound sources (Anne-Laure Cros, Virginie Cavalier, Mirna Maalouf), as revealer (Léa Dumayet), or even as amplifiers of the sound environment (Christian Delécluse & Perrine Villemur). They invite us on immobile journeys through fragments of soundscapes from distant or nearby elsewhere (Dominique Blais & Kerwin Rolland, Félix Blume, Mirna Maalouf), from intimate or collective moments of the past (Pierre Ardouvin, Dimitri Vazemsky, Erick Flogny, Bertrand Planes & Olivier Lasson).